Get Involved and Reap the Benefits: Advantages of Professional Library Membership

Lisa C. Chen:

This was a great article on the perks and opportunities you have when joining an association.

Also, associations usually have membership and event discounts for students and the underemployed.

Originally posted on hls:

Editor’s note: This is a guest post by Sara Kelso.

This is the post where I convince you to get involved, if you aren’t already, with professional organizations as a library or information professional.  “But I don’t have time!” you say.  “But it’s expensive!” you protest.  “And what do they ever do for me anyways?  I mean, it’s great to have conferences, but those are expensive too!” you lament.

Dear reader, I hear you.  But I’m here to tell you that there are enormous advantages to professional organization membership and involvement that you may not have yet discovered.  Fellow MLIS students, I’m particularly talking to you.

Early on in my life in the library world a few years ago, when I landed my first student position, I made it a point to shell out the hundred or so bucks to get that ALA and local OLA membership…

View original 971 more words

Leave a Reply

