D. B. Weldon Library

Weldon is Western University’s largest library. I have been exploring this library and I have taken the following photos:

As a new user, I must comment on Weldon’s design. I was taken aback by its lack of escalators. York University’s Scott Library, which also has five floors, had escalators on its first three floors. It feels like I am walking through a maze, as the stairs leads to different floors and exits. I have learned that the elevators are the best means of transportation. Weldon also needs to add more lights, as it does not rely so much on natural lighting.

The stacks have lights which are motion sensored; they will turn on when you approach the shelves. Perhaps Scott Library should install such lights too.

Leave a Reply

